//
you're reading...
Aichi, Travel

Down The Kiso River

If you have ever been to Inuyama, then I’m sure you are familiar with the Kiso River.  Although I’m not living in Inuyama, I have visited on several occasions and have thoroughly enjoyed myself each time.  If you are looking for information on how to experience this then I’ll put a link at the bottom.

Experiencing the Kiso River was special for me because I not only enjoyed it with my family(that CAME from America), but also my boss and coworker joined the venture.

Now it may be simple to say that my family coming to Japan caused for all sorts of excitement.  However, it also created quite a bit of embarrassment.

Anyway, as you can see my dad in the above picture, he is wearing a hat commonly worn by the guides.  He was doing it in attempt to protect himself from the sun.  He was successful in his mission, but also managed to entertain all the other passengers.

Throughout the ride there were a series of rapids and calming currents.  It made for an interesting ride for all the people in the front of the boat(me<—-).  Despite getting splashed a bit, it was a fun ride with some beautiful views.

When we reached the end of the ride, everyone began scrambling for their cameras to get a shot of the castle from the river.

So an hour and a little sunburn later, we hopped off the boat and headed towards my bosses favorite shaved ice store, otherwise known as kakigori(かき氷).  Sadly we don’t have shaved ice in America quite like they do in Japan, but slushies in the states are pretty terrific in comparison.  The major difference between the two was in Japan you can have condensed milk added in with the flavor of your choice.  I went with strawberry-milk while my Japanese ‘tour guides’ preferred the green tea with bean paste.

Kakigori is a great way to cool down in the summer.  From the boat to the shop it took no more than 10 minutes, yet we still found ourselves covered in sweat from the humidity and summer heat.  But since my family was only visiting we were back on our feet again before we knew it, heading for the castle.

The path up to the castle contains all sorts of shrines and gates dedicated by different families over the years.  Although this was my second time to Inuyama Castle, it was my first time to climb to the top of it.  The castle had never been reached or captured, and my dad can tell you why….the STEPS!!!  They are nearly a 90 degree climb.

After the castle, we took a break and experienced a feast.  I could write an entire blog simply about the meal itself, but instead I’ll fast forward to the night time light up.  Only one week out of the year the castle is lit up at night and features an assortment of artwork to the top.

Inuyama Castle “National Treasure”

Along with the light up came performers and cosplay enthusiasts.

The day had been long.  The day had been good.  Once again a successful trip to Inuyama.  I hope you enjoyed reading.  Comment with any questions!

http://www.japanguides.net/aichi/shooting-the-nihon-rhine-rapids-kiso-kiso-gawa-river.html

About travelnihon

I recently graduated from the University and am currently teaching English to all ages in Japan

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Down The Kiso River

  1. The Kiso River is often called the Japan Rhine due to its similarities to the famous river in Europe. I love the view of the river from Inuyama castle. Simply Amazing!

    Posted by Japan Australia | November 27, 2012, 2:44 am

Leave a Reply

