//
you're reading...
Osaka, Travel

Osaka Aquarium 大阪海遊館

During my summer vacation, I managed to travel to a few of the biggest cities in Japan.  I’m sure you are fairly familiar with the capital and metropolis, Tokyo, but in addition to that I made reoccurring trips to Kyoto and Osaka.  In Osaka, one of the most hyped tourist attractions is the aquarium which is seven stories high and is the home to a beautiful, majestic whale shark.

On route to the aquarium were a vast number of attractions and works of art.  It made for a welcoming and playful path to the aquarium itself.

The only other aquarium I have experienced in Japan, other than this one, was the Nagoya Aquarium.  I was quite impressed by it, so I had had high expectations in regards to Osaka.

Now with the heat and the crowds, it made for all sorts of excitement.  We had been looking to go through the aquarium quickly since it was our last day in Osaka and we had plans to go to Nagoya by the mid-afternoon.  In spite of our plan, the crowds did not allow us to move very briskly through the seven floors of seemingly bottomless exhibits.

From the beginning you start on the bottom floor.  Once you pass through a tunnel you go up an escalator that takes you to the top of the seven story aquarium.  As you make your way through the tour, you are supposed to experience themes based on the different inhabitants within the Ring of Fire in the Pacific Ocean.

One of my favorite aspects of visiting such an overcrowded place was that I had the chance to do it in Japan.  Watching how people react to the exhibits and how children, no matter where you go in the world, are children.

On the other hand, it was interesting to see how the two cultures differ in like situations.  An example of this was the number of parents that were constantly running into other people or smashing your feet with their strollers while blatantly ignoring that they were doing it.  Japan has some of the most polite people in the world, but for some reason they can be rather passive agressive in confined spaces.

Anyway, back to the action.  As you made your way down the ramp you were circling a giant tank.  On the other side were side exhibits with dolphins, seals, penguins, and other varying fish.  The center tank held the main attraction, the whale shark.  It is not easy to keep a whale shark in captivity, which makes it all the more precious for people to come and see.  Although it seemed to still be in the early stages of its life, it was rather large in comparison to the other fish.

It is easy to tell the maturity of a whale shark because the tail fin will be symmetrical when it is fully grown.  In other words, the top and bottom will be equal lengths.

As you can see there are a variety of fish and rays that are able to coexist with the whale shark considering they are rather docile creatures.  They are actually known as filter feeders, which means they prefer plankton, algae, and small fish.

Towards the end of the tour you approached smaller creatures of the sea.  Jellyfish seem to always be a favorite to someone.

In comparison to the Nagoya Aquarium, I would say that Osaka did not live up to its hype.  It was definitely worth going, and the price was not as high as expected, nearly $25, so there wasn’t much to be disappointed about.  However, if I were to recommend an aquatic experience, I would suggest you go to Nagoya instead.

I hope you enjoyed the pictures!  Come back for the next set.

About travelnihon

I recently graduated from the University and am currently teaching English to all ages in Japan

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Osaka Aquarium 大阪海遊館

  1. Those are some gorgeous pictures. Even if it’s not as good as Nagoya, it’s a lot better than the last aquarium I visited. (Not to mention it reminded me of a scene from a manga that I ended up enjoying…don’t think it was Osaka Aquarium though…it’s just some of the displays kind of reminded me of it.)

    Posted by Amy Keeley | November 12, 2012, 8:59 pm
  2. I will never be in Japan so I am so glad that you can send all this information to Findlay, Oh and every place else so we can see what you are doing. I just finished seeing your blog and as always really enjoy it Brad. Keep them coming!!

    Posted by Grandma Fitzpatrick | November 12, 2012, 10:39 pm
  3. I’ve yet to visit Nagoya Aquarium, but Osaka Aquarium is considered one of the best in Japan and one of the must see tourist sights in Osaka.

    Posted by Japan Australia | November 12, 2012, 11:22 pm
  4. The aquarium in Osaka was one of the first things I visited when I first came in 2007! ^__^
    Meanwhile I have been to a lot of Japanese aquariums and it’s hard to choose the best one.
    I remember I really liked the one in Osaka, but I can also clearly say that it’s not my favorite! 🙂

    Posted by zoomingjapan | November 13, 2012, 2:54 am
  5. Wow amazing! I’m going to the Aquarium in GA next week I’m so excited but if we ever happen to visit Japan Osaka is on my bucket list!

    Posted by dafarmer | November 14, 2012, 5:12 am
  6. Die Seite ist wirklich wunderschön!

    Posted by re56nates | November 19, 2012, 11:05 am

Leave a Reply

