//
you're reading...
Culture

A Kanazawa Wedding Party

During Golden Week I spent some time in Kanazawa.  In my previous blog you can see what I did during the day, but here is a little look into what I did during the night.

I was able to experience my first Japanese wedding after-party.  Now, I come from a family that is always growing in numbers.  I have almost 50 first cousins which means family reunions, such as weddings, can be rather crowded.  This makes for quite a rowdy after party when friends and more distant relatives are thrown into the mix.  Add an open bar, some music, and a dance floor and you’ll have a night to remember.  The only problem in Japan is, there were no family members, music, or dancing at the after party.  But that isn’t to say we didn’t have fun.

The after party lasted for about 2 hours with unlimited food and drinks.  And as a gift to the bride and groom, there was a $75 charge at the door.

The grooms tend to dress in white tuxedos.  The brides usually have gown changes from a white dress, to a kimono, to a more colorful dress.  The changes are done throughout the wedding so I only had the chance to see one dress.  However, not all brides change gowns considering how expensive it can be.

There were name tags for registered guests at each seat.  You can see mine below.  My name stood out from the rest of the names because the script used for foreign names is much different from what is used for Japanese names.  Our seats were next to a window and the venue was right above the center of downtown Kanazawa.

During the reception, there were readings from the “best man” and “maid of honor” along with other games which gave more flavor to the party.  My table however, was particularly rambunctious so I wasn’t able to focus on any of the activities they were trying to carry out.  Add a little alcohol and a language barrier, and everything becomes exponentially more difficult. (or maybe interesting)

Afterward, the wedding party and some of their friends headed to karaoke so we dropped in for a minute before going on to another place.  With the number of attractions that are available in any given downtown area, it is easy to find something to do.  Especially, if you are with a group of people that are a little bit crazy, it makes anything interesting.

I can’t wait for the next chance I have to go back to Kanazawa.  If I had to choose a place that feels most like home, it would be here.

About travelnihon

I recently graduated from the University and am currently teaching English to all ages in Japan

Discussion

9 thoughts on “A Kanazawa Wedding Party

  1. in nepal we too give money at wedding party as blessing very similar 🙂

    Posted by itssrijana | May 19, 2012, 12:43 pm
  2. Cool photos. Looks like it was fun!

    Posted by Ged | May 19, 2012, 7:46 pm
  3. the photos are awesome! Thanks for sharing!

    I’ve applied for ALT! I hope I get it! 😀

    Posted by riatarded | May 25, 2012, 4:52 pm
    • Thanks!!

      Good luck with your application! My life has changed a lot after only 1 year. 😀

      Posted by travelnihon | May 27, 2012, 12:27 pm
      • How long are you going to be in Japan for?

        I mean to ask, how long can the ALT contract be extended? 🙂

        Posted by riatarded | May 27, 2012, 2:09 pm
        • It all depends on who or where you are working. Different companies extend for different amounts of time. The typical contract is for 1 year, and they just continue creating 1 year contracts year after year as long as they like you. I personally plan on staying for up to 5 years, but it all depends on how my language skills progress.

          Posted by travelnihon | May 28, 2012, 1:31 pm
          • oh alright!

            didn’t know that! Oh My Gosh! So excited! Thank you! x

            Posted by riatarded | May 28, 2012, 1:54 pm

Leave a Reply

