//
you're reading...
Travel

A Stroll Through Flower Park

The cherry blossoms have now bloomed all over Japan.  People are constantly having 花見 (flower viewing) parties.  During this time, I was invited to go to my home away from home, Hamamatsu (Shizuoka prefecture).  With the help of my girlfriends mother, I was able to experience some of the beauty that fills Japan.  We made a trip to a place literally called and referred to as, “Flower Park” in Japanese.  The arrangements were amazing and I was entirely impressed with everything within the park.  The blooming of the cherry blossoms made an awesome addition to an already impressive garden.

Anyway, when we first entered the park we were up on a hill.  Upon entering, you are able to see an assortment of potted plants, scattered about the area.  From the edge of the hill there is a bit of a gorge that goes down into a pool with a gigantic fountain.  Music played as the fountain put on a bit of a show.

Across the way you can see there were some flower arrangements that created a picture.  Each picture was a different character.  Although I may have seen the characters before, I am not familiar with their names.  I can only assume they are fairly well known figures in Japan.

We crossed a bridge to get a closer look at the characters and additionally, a greenhouse that was setup.  Inside was a variety of plants.  There were three rooms separating western style gardens, tropical gardens, and a Mexican style garden that included a variety of cacti.

Western-style (it reminds me of my backyard in the states)

Tropical garden

Mexican-style garden

After we cleared the greenhouse, we went down a path that led around the outskirts of the park.  Along the trail were countless cherry blossom trees.  Some of the trees were a staggering size and others were no bigger than a large bush.  Coupled with the trees were rows of tulips that made for quite the scenic view.  Although I am sure there are places like this in America, it seems that these places are not as popular.  However, I am not sure as to why considering I would like to have spent the entire day at a place like this.

After walking the path in its entirety, we sat down at a rest area for a while and talked about everything that has gone on recently.  We caught up on current news concerning one another and then decided to head home.  I’m hoping to make another trip back to Flower Park since it made quite an impression on me.  The next time I go will probably be in the fall to see the beautiful autumn colors.

About travelnihon

I recently graduated from the University and am currently teaching English to all ages in Japan

Discussion

10 thoughts on “A Stroll Through Flower Park

  1. i didnt know there’s such a thing as flower viewing parties ..now i know:)

    Posted by itssrijana | April 16, 2012, 3:33 am
  2. My 5 year old says the 2nd character from the left is Hanakapa. The others are his friends. lol I completely missed the tulip festival in my city last week but I managed to get some cherry bloss pics. I hope this link works. lol IKIMASHITA We didn’t get a chance to do the hanabi party either. Maybe next year. Nice pictures by the way!

    Posted by EpignosisTCHR | April 16, 2012, 7:18 am
    • Nice history of the hanabi party. I didn’t know that was the explanation for the kanji either, so that will help me remember it easier in the future(good story to tell my family to make me look smarter too). I wish I would’ve made more of an effort towards specifically cherry blossoms, but I guess I have a goal for next year now. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

      Posted by travelnihon | April 16, 2012, 12:40 pm
  3. Oh my goodness, I love all the photographs! Japan is indeed such a beautiful place to visit! 🙂
    Great post!

    Posted by Tania | April 16, 2012, 1:50 pm
  4. I have never seen gardens so beautiful as those. Thanks for sharing.

    Posted by Grandma Fitzpatrick | April 16, 2012, 4:20 pm
  5. ちゅーりっぷだぁぁいすき♡
    ブラッドリーもだぁぁぁぁいすきー♡

    Posted by yuukiぽん | April 17, 2012, 2:59 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Travel Japan – THE JAPAN BLOG DIRECTORY - May 15, 2012

Leave a Reply

