//
you're reading...
Travel, Winter 2011

Dating In Nagoya

Dating in Nagoya opens a door for a number of different adventures.  Nagoya is the third largest incorporated and fourth most populated city in Japan.  Surrounding the train station are skyscrapers, filled with businesses, restaurants, tourist attractions, shopping centers, etc.  Anything you could want is within walking distance from the main station.  In addition to everything around Nagoya station are the suburban areas such as Kanayama, Chikusa, Ozone, and Sakae which have enough things to keep you busy for weeks.  Anyways, moving on to more useful information to those traveling around Nagoya.

Yuuki and I set aside a day for the two of us.  To begin we started by taking the subway from 千種Chikusa to 覚王山 Kakuouzan.  Kakuouzan has some cafes and some old Japanese-styled shops that lined the streets.  The style is much different from the rest of the buildings.  You can see them on occasion standing by their lonesome anywhere, but it looks tacky if they are not grouped with like-structures.  On our way to the cafe I picked up another typo.  I thought it would be nice to leave a note explaining the mistake, but I doubt they would have cared much for my opinion.

After a short walk, we made it to the cafe we set out for.  On our way we saw a Domino’s with more, “travel friendly” delivery bikes.  I also saw my first olive tree on our way.

Cafe’s are more of a hobby in Japan than a restaurant.  The location is not as important as it may be in the U.S. or maybe just in other industries.  Customers will search for and find cafe’s with appealing pictures or interesting responses from blogs or other social media.  Especially women are interested in the design and style that is represented by the owners.  Additionally, the food is set to look stylish in accordance with the atmosphere.

Accompanying the cafe on the second floor was a book shop.  I found two books that may look quite familiar to anyone from the U.S.

Following the cafe date, we stopped in for some dessert at a French inspired cake shop.  I hope you’re not too hungry.

We were stuffed after the cake shop, they don’t look so big, but they can fill you up fairly quick.  By the time we finished we went to the last destination in Kakuouzan.  On our way we passed the old, Japanese-style houses and shops.  A young woman was making glass items by the register, so Yuuki and I stopped to have a look.

It was dark by the time we arrived at the temple.  It was a Thailand inspired temple if I’m not mistaken.  We were asked to leave immediately so I’ll have to go back for some better pictures someday.

Since it became dark, it was the perfect time for us to continue on to Nagoya to finish the date with a bang.

We went to a place called Sky Promenade.  You take an elevator up to the 46th floor, buy a ticket, and continue up some escalators to the 48th floor.  From there, you can see the entire city.  Nagoya caste, which is actually in Sakae, can be seen from the building.  The highway also makes for some ideal lighting.

Something else I may have noticed, but never really thought about is how tall the train station is in Nagoya.  Well I found out that Nagoya train station is actually the tallest station in Japan.  Both from above and below you can see that it’s quite impressive.

Thanks for reading, Merry Christmas!

About travelnihon

I recently graduated from the University and am currently teaching English to all ages in Japan

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Dating In Nagoya

  1. Those desserts look as if I would have to sample each one. Japan is a beautiful country and you are a blessed person to be able to have a private tour guide. That is what I have always dreamed of for a trip to NY; San Francisco and other large USA cities. Have a peaceful Christmas and race into 2012 with all the enthusiasm you have now.
    Aunt Karen

    Posted by Aunt Karen | December 20, 2011, 8:17 pm
  2. What an interesting city! I can’t wait to experience some of the amazing things you are seeing!!

    Posted by Sue | December 21, 2011, 12:26 am
  3. This was your least impressive blog. I always get excited to read them, but I’m not trying to date you! (Gross). I just want to know where you are and what youre doing all the time, obviously. I cant wait to be in Japan and recommend spell check to EVERYONE. Dont worry, I will be leaving the notes to each business owner on our travels. Love and miss you!

    Give me your cell phone number, Im better than mom.

    Geese

    Posted by LISA | December 21, 2011, 2:29 am
  4. I enjoy reading your blogs. Nagoya looks like a fascinating city. Have a blessed and Merry Christmas. Rick and Diane Gerken

    Posted by Diane Gerken | December 22, 2011, 1:44 am
  5. Nagoya is a great city with a big city feel but more relaxed than say Tokyo. Favourite spots have to be Nagoya Castle, Atsuta Jingu and shopping around Nagoya Station, Sakae and Osu.

    Posted by Japan Australia | January 5, 2012, 3:07 am
  6. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

    Posted by Tony Dorlando | January 20, 2012, 9:07 am
  7. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so i came to “return the favor”.
    I’m attempting to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your id

    Posted by Ethel | March 13, 2013, 3:57 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Travel Japan – THE JAPAN BLOG DIRECTORY - January 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

