//
you're reading...
Winter 2011

The Week of Thanksgiving

As you may assume, there is no Thanksgiving celebrations in Japan.  Pilgrims did not come to Japan to make peace with the Japanese, and the history of civilization in Japan dates back more than 2000 years ago.  Even worse than not having Thanksgiving, was the lack of turkey, or better said the absence of turkey.  If there is any turkey meat in Japan, then I have yet to discover where it could be.  Luckily I got something from home that reminded me of what I was missing.

Even with the absence of Thanksgiving, I was able to enjoy myself at a ballet performed by a local dance studio.  It was a three hour long show that was broken up into three, one hour long acts.  It involved strictly ballet numbers along with modern, hip hop dance with an influence derived from ballet.  Due to photographs being prohibited during the performance, I wasn’t able to get any great shots, but I did manage to sneak a few towards the end.

I was lucky enough to receive some free tickets from my students since their mother is the owner of the dance studio.  Not only did we get free tickets, but they were some of the best seats in the auditorium.  It was my understanding that teaching is a respectable position in Japan, but I wasn’t quite sure to what extent.  In Japanese, 先生(Sensei) means teacher, and after a teachers name it is common to call them sensei.  For example, I have been called Brad sensei on occasion.  It is a form of respect, built into their language that is probably not even thought of when they say it.  Anyways, I always thought it was respectable to be a teacher at the college level, and a normal profession prior to the college level.  However, I’ve gotten the impression that English is highly looked upon and appreciated especially when it correlates to the parents who send their students to be taught by me.  I had even been asked by one students’ grandmother, “Please teach my grandson English.”

Later that week, two days after Thanksgiving, I went to meet Yuuki at Nagoya Airport.  On my way I came across this in Nagoya Station.

After meeting Yuuki at the airport, we got a beer at Subway and went on to the restaurant at which we had made prior reservations.  The restaurant consisted of a padded booth on the ground with a table just above your legs.  We were presented with five courses which had been preset and we also chose unlimited drinks over the two hour period that we stayed.  It was about $30 each which is a relatively good deal compared to other restaurants I’ve been to in Japan.

This is simply the view looking up from our seat with the meal following.

There were other courses that we had such as sushi, soup, tempura and some others, but I had been drinking so I forgot to take a picture of them…oops.

The next day Yuuki took a trip to Sakae and I followed behind her while she went shopping.  The upside to this was I found out were all the Japanese girls hangout on the weekends (don’t tell Yuuki).  I pass by this sign about once a week so I finally managed to take a picture of it.  It’s the sign before the train to any number of larger cities outside of mine which is 春日井Kasugai.  I particularly enjoy the advertisements and the fact that someone slightly taller than me would have to duck their head while walking through here.

While I was being pulled around the city I managed to snap a few shots.

I even found a place for my sister to transfer to so we can see each other more often, still looking for some Nationwide branches.

To finish the night we went into the TV tower and had a drink before heading home.  Although the view from the top was a bit disappointing it was a relaxing atmosphere on the inside along with a typo to end the night.  I didn’t think Cinderella Honeymoon was too hard to spell, but that’s just me.

About travelnihon

I recently graduated from the University and am currently teaching English to all ages in Japan

Discussion

10 thoughts on “The Week of Thanksgiving

  1. Great job once again! What a feast you had. We’ll have to do something like that when we visit. You have some great photos in this piece. I love seeing Japan through your eyes. Continue to let us live this adventure with you.

    Posted by Mom | December 1, 2011, 4:57 pm
  2. Brad, you may find a job for yourself on the Japanese Tourist Board….as your recounts and pictures are making us very envious of your adventure.

    Posted by marsha8of9 | December 1, 2011, 5:55 pm
  3. I love the cinderera spelling. I am so glad that they spell it the same way the talk. Also a tuxedo t-shirt for your class would really get the respect of a true English Sensei

    Posted by Adam | December 2, 2011, 12:02 am
  4. I love experiencing Japan vicariously through your words and photos…thanks for keeping us in the loop!!!

    Posted by Aunt Kathy | December 2, 2011, 12:07 am
  5. Great pictures Brad. It almost makes me feel like I’m there. Keep up the good work.

    Posted by Grandma | December 2, 2011, 12:18 am
  6. Brad you continue to amaze me and make me prouder of you every day! Your writing skills are impoving with every blog! This blog was the best written one yet! Keep them coming! It really helps your mother and I deal with how much we miss you! Continue on your quest to master the language, culture, and to be the best Sensei that Japan has ever had.

    I love you Dad!

    Posted by Dad | December 2, 2011, 6:56 pm
  7. Whoah! You’re pretty cool, Brad! I just want to say that I miss you and that it sucks you don’t have thanksgiving anymore because its my favorite holiday and stuff. Next time we hang out we should cook a big turkey and then slay it. 私はあなたを愛して…that means i love you according to google translator!!

    -Todd ♥

    Posted by Todd | December 2, 2011, 11:18 pm
  8. thanksgiving in Indonesia mean give thanks to God for His blessing never end..

    Posted by yudaterry | December 6, 2011, 4:42 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Week of Thanksgiving « Travel Japan | TEFL Japan - December 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

